kids are smart and not at all boring

The other day I was out running errands when I overheard a conversation between a little boy and his mother. She was trying to get him to try on a pair of plain blue rubber boots. He preferred the pink ones with neon dots.

“These ones match your jacket,” the mother reasoned. Clearly this conversation had been going on for a while.

“But I don’t want them to the match. The same is boring,” he said.

Kids are brilliant.

Before they even know what the word means, kids know that conformity is terribly boring. I wholeheartedly agree. And yet, I often find myself attempting to be like everyone else around me…  Maybe we should all just stop and celebrate our eccentricities instead of trying to hide them. Here’s a sampling of mine:

1. I have NEVER used our dryer. I got a clothes horse several years ago, and I’ve never looked back. I love hanging up laundry. It smells fresher, it’s not wrinkled, clothes last longer, and in the summer, the sun bleaches my whites (this is especially awesome since I use cloth diapers!).

2. I make my own deoderant. During pregnancy, my skin statted to get super sensitive to everything and anything, including my anti-perspirant.  I started looking for a viable alternative with a lot less packaging. I found a recipe of cornstarch and baking soda online and I’ve been using it ever since.  Now I can’t stand the smell of commercial products and when I use them, they burn my skin. 

3. I have nightly nightmares. This too started during my pregnancy and they never left, although they are a little more sporadic now.  They are pretty vivid and really messed up. Usually they involve an intense battle between good and evil, with me at the forefront of the that fight.  I’ve been trapped in an underwater prison, raised the dead from an animal graveyard, and disfigured thumbs with fine china.

What makes you different? Please share!

Leave a Reply

