the jacket that almost was.

The other day I was shopping at my favorite local thrift store. I wasn’t having much luck and was just about to leave when, out of the corner of my eye, I saw it. A beautiful leather jacket. Okay, it wasn’t real leather, but it was still beautiful. I tried to restrain my excitement. This wasn’t the first time I had found myself in this situation and I was prepared for disappointment, aka. the arms are way too short. I slid the jacket on. It fit perfectly. The sleeves covered my wrists. I was delighted, even more so when I peeked at the price tag. $9.99.  I looked in the mirror and fell in love. It looked amazing. I looked amazing (sorta, not really). I slammed that baby down in front of the cashier and strutted out of the store.

I was pumped driving home. The radio was blasting. The windows were rolled down. Life was good. And then I saw the tag. 100% polyurethane. What?!?

If you don’t know, I am afraid of polyurethane. I read that it off-gases. From our mattresses, to our sofas, it is filling our home with weird chemicals and it scares me. It scares me even more to think about placing that stuff directly on my skin all day.

But I really loved the jacket… Could I let it pass this time? After all, we kept our sofa…

I pictured Boo snuggling up to me, her face burrowed in the nape of my neck, or the crease in my arm. I pictured her tackling me from behind, wrapping her entire body up against mine. These were beautiful images. The chemical jacket didn’t look so lovely anymore.

The jacket is sitting in the trunk of my car. I will return it. Maybe somebody else will find the risk worth taking.  But man, it sure looked good.

So the hunt continues. Leather pants. Leather jacket. And well we’re wishing, let’s throw some sequins on that list too!

Leave a Reply

