Kickin’ it au naturelle (also known as Fabulous Natural Beauty Products)

In my quest to become a best bud to the earth and to rid my home and lifestyle of chemicals,I have come face to face with a new … and super fun … challenge.

Beauty Products!!!  I love all products: moisturizers that make your skin feel like butter, exfoliators that make you glow, serums that make you gleam, nail polishes that funkify your outfits, conditioners that smells like coconuts… I love ’em all!  But what we put on ourselves is eventually absorbed into ourselves… and I don’t like the idea that I’m rubbing chemicals into my body.

So, today’s post is a list of natural products I have tried and LOVED to date – as I keep exploring I will add to this list.

1. Grape Seed Oil: I found this at my bulk food store for $8!!  I use a small amount (the size of a dime) every night and I love it.  It claims to moisturize, tone and tighten, minimize wrinkle, and prevent under-eye-circles.  I have no complaints.  Plus it is all natural.

2. Coffee exfoliator (AND cellulite fighter): coffee grounds are coarse, which naturally help with exfoliation.  It also has anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant effects on the skin and stimulates collagen production.  Mix 1 cup warm coffee grounds with 1/2 cup sugar or sea salt, then add 2 tbsp. olive oil.  Rub the mix all over your skin while standing on newspapers.  Then step in the shower and rinse off.

3. Oatmeal: oatmeal is a cleanser, moisturizer and buffer.  And it has anti-itch, skin-soothing and anti-inflammatory properties!  To use oatmeal as an exfoliant, put 1 cup rolled oats in a blender and put them on the “Blend” setting for three minutes. Move the ground oatmeal to a bowl, then add some water and a few drops of your favorite essential oil until it becomes a paste. Use it on your skin as you would any other cleansing scrub. If your skin is particularly dry, add a few drops of olive oil and a little less water.

4. Honey Lip Scrub: Mix 1 tsp honey and 1 tsp baking soda until a smooth paste is formed.  Apply the mixture on your lips and leave it on for a few minutes.  Then gently rub the lips to remove dead skin.  Wash your lips with water and then apply olive oil to moisturize.

5. Body moisturizer: This one I really LOVE!  Coconut Oil.  I bought a tub or organic coconut oil from a local bulk store.  Keep it at cool room temperature and it will last for a long time.  And your skin will be silky smooth.  Try it.  Just do it.  You won’t regret it!

One thought on “Kickin’ it au naturelle (also known as Fabulous Natural Beauty Products)

Leave a Reply

