SMALL is big!

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about our home. It’s the first home I’ve ever owned, and I love it. It has big windows, a front porch, a back deck, hardwood floors, and the world’s greatest neighbours. And it’s small.

That last point really was a selling feature for me. I’m serious. I’ve always been a big fan of the small house movement. It advocates for living well in small spaces which just makes sense to me -less to clean, fix, furnish, and pay for.  I want my home to be a place of shared spaces, that brings the family together. So, when looking for a house we knew we wanted under 1,000 sq. ft.  and we got that at just over 850 sq. ft.

At first the house seemed huge with plenty of room for impromptu dance parties. But slowly it transformed from spacious into cozy and then, with the addition of Boo, into downright crowded.  What happened to us? And the bigger question, what will happen to us?

Yes, that last question constantly lurks in the back of my mind. We are a 2 bedroom home. Can this wonderful little house, filled with  wonderful memories, accommodate my dreams for a growing family?

Small houses take work and they take a ridiculous amount of creativity. Am I up for the challenge? And if not, am I really up for just leaving my home, and the values and memories that it holds? I don’t think so.

And so I’m in need of advice or encouragement. Or at the very least, some solidarity, so we can whine about our love for small houses together. Join the trend. Someday it will catch on…

 

And for inspiration, let’s take a look at the masters of small.  These people/homes are genius and apartment therapy is hosting their international annual small cool contest. No, I’m not entering. The contest is small cool  places. Our place is just small, but I guess that’s already pretty cool…

via apartment therapy. 300 sq ft

via apartment therapy. 630 sq ft

via apartment therapy. 688 sq ft

via apartment therapy. 460 sq ft

via apartment therapy. 688 sq ft.


4 thoughts on “SMALL is big!

  1. Deni Lyn says:

    Hi! You’ve inspired me to write more routinely about our 960 square foot home! Hopefully, I’ll have a couple good ideas, tricks for you. Or perhaps I’ll just be a horrible warning! Either way, thanks for a great post and the inspiration. I linked back to you of course for the great idea. I’d love to see more of what you have done or are doing to use every square inch to the fullest!

    • starfishandsnowflake says:

      Yes, please tell us all about your small home adventures -and post pictures! I need the inspiration and I hate when magazines try to inspire you by posting “small houses under 2000 sq ft”! I hope to post more about it too, but it’s definitely something I continue to struggle with and figure out. But I’ll always be proud of our little home. Thanks for the comment and link.

  2. Ron says:

    Small is definitely better. We downsized our living space when we moved to Europe and it has helped us get in each others way….often. Our family is closer as a result. We are not sure we want to go back to bigger house living, it seems like such a waste of space.

Leave a Reply

