Decide, don’t slide: A primer on marriage?

Have you ever been to a wedding and when the bride and groom look lovingly into each other’s eyes thought to yourself, I give them one year tops?

I know, it’s a horrible thing to admit. But the reality is that almost 50% of today’s marriages end in divorce. And apparently, if you cohabitat before you say your I-do’s, you are at an even greater risk.

Sorry for such a depressing topic (Happy Monday y’all).

Who would have thought cohabitation would be so controversial, and risky? For many of us, choosing to live with our boy/girlfriend is simply another stepping stone in the relationship.  We do it because it’s practical and easy and economical. We don’t give it much thought. And perhaps that’s where the trouble lies.  We’re “sliding, not deciding” as the New York Times article The Downside of Cohabitating Before Marriage so blatantly states. Quoting national surveys, international doctors, and other important people, the article dissects the slow unravelling of the romantic relationship, which often begins when couples decide to move in together. Yikes!

I’m not going to lie, it’s a bit of a downer article, but it’s interesting and definitely thought-provoking.  I don’t know where I stand on the issue, but I do know that any good relationship is based on open communication and maybe that’s what we all need a little more of. And I do know that when I said my vows in front of my Hubby, our friends, and our family, it was for keeps.

I wish all you married couples a lifetime of happy togetherness, regardless of whether you cohabitated before you took your vows or not. Let’s defy all odds.

2 thoughts on “Decide, don’t slide: A primer on marriage?

  1. DR says:

    Interesting blog! I grew up in a household where we were strongly encouraged to live with our partners before ever contemplating marriage and I agree that moving in together should be a well thought out, well communicated choice.

    • starfishandsnowflake says:

      i agree, but i can see how people just slide into this decision too. i always heard that people who live together before marriage are more likely to divorce, but i never understand how that was possible until i read the article. i found it rather insightful. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

