Be kind to one another

I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to see this movie – just the trailer brings me to tears.

Bully is a movie now in theatres that follows “a year in the life” of America’s bullying crisis through five kids and their families.  Tragically, two of the families lost children to suicide.

I do therapy with children and I’m fiercely protective of them.  I’m a big sister so I’m also fiercely protective of my “little” (she’s taller than me) sister and “little” (he’s over 6 feet) brother.  And now that I’m an auntie, I’m fiercely protective of my niece.  FIERCELY protective.

I’ve been lucky – I haven’t been bullied.  I was called “bat face” once in Grade 6.  That’s about the extent of it. But I’ve had a really good friend go through extreme bullying in Elementary School.  She recently completed her thesis in Psychology … it was on bullying.  And she used excerpts from her elementary school diary for the titles of each section of her thesis.

I love all the emphasis out there on how cool it is to be different.

I love Ellen’s campaign to stop bullying.

I love that movies about bullying are coming out and hopefully raising even more awareness.

I would really love it if, when I send the kids I work with off to the real world, out of my office, where we’ve just shared a snack of granola bars and apple juice, I didn’t have to cross my fingers and send up a wish that everyone would treat them kindly and show them the compassion we all deserve.

Last week one of the schools I work with did a “Pay It Forward” campaign.  The Task: wear the Pay It Forward bracelet, share a kind gesture with someone and pass the bracelet along to the recipient of your kindess.  And then ask them to do the same.  Today, and onward, let’s do this…  It’s not hard to be kind to one another.

2 thoughts on “Be kind to one another

  1. Frieda Kehler says:

    I can’t help but think that those kids who are doing the bullying have likely been mistreated themselves and more than likely by their parents in their own homes. Is it poverty and a lack of resources that breeds this kind of behaviour? If so, how do we stop it when society is becoming more and more polarized in terms of the haves and have nots? I think it is hard for some people to be kind to others.

    • starfishandsnowflake says:

      I totally agree with and appreciate your feedback. Bullying is such a tough topic and makes victims of us all. Kindness is such a simple, albeit perhaps impossible, response. I guess we just hope kindness will be contagious and that it will catch on like wildfire. Thanks for reading:)

Leave a Reply

