“So please, oh PLEASE, we beg, we pray, Go throw your TV set away, And in its place you can install, A lovely bookshelf on the wall.” — Roald Dahl, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

When I was little my parents read to me every night before bed. These quiet moments were where I learned all about Anne of Green Gables, Tom Sawyer, and life in a Little House on the Prairie.  And they resulted in days spent trying to find a gate that would lead to a secret garden or trying to find a closet that would lead me to Narnia.  Books were magic.

Now I want to pass this magic on to Boo. I want to fill her imagination with elaborate tales that will lead her on endless adventures and open up an exciting world to her. I think she’s well on her way.

We’ve been reading to Boo since before she was born.  And not a day goes by that we don’t read together. It is her absolute favorite activity -and mine.

She’s got an embarrassingly large collection of books to choose from, but she has an ever-rotating list of about 3-5 favorites at any given time.  Here are Boo’s current top 5 books.

Way better than anything on T.V.  What are your favorite books from childhood?

5 thoughts on ““So please, oh PLEASE, we beg, we pray, Go throw your TV set away, And in its place you can install, A lovely bookshelf on the wall.” — Roald Dahl, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

  1. Ron says:

    Not sure who enjoyed the reading experience more the reader or the listener when our kids were young. As a child I loved Max und Moritz by Wilhelm Busch (also available in english). Sounds like Boo will be an English Major with a minor in agriculture!

  2. Frieda Kehler says:

    I remember really enjoying the book Ira Sleeps Over. The kids enjoyed it too. I loved reading it with a thick Jewish accent, which I was exposed to when I taught at Joseph Wolinsky Collegiate in Wpg. James and the Giant Peach was great too (all Roald Dahl books). I love reading your posts!

  3. CelloMom says:

    One of my literature professors confessed to reading the Rime of the Ancient Mariner to her then five-year old. She insisted it didn’t give him nightmares. 🙂 And of course, you can’t be too young for Blake’s Songs of Innocence. Just the illustrations are worth it, even if his tiger is a little silly.

Leave a Reply

