What to do with all that rhubarb…

It’s my second attempt at a foodie friday and I think an apology is already due. I apologize for the lack of glamor and decadence that I had envisioned this post to have. Instead, today we are opting for something simple and beyond practical, because if you’re anything like me, you’ve got a garden filled with rhubarb (and not much else).  Today I bring you rhubarb crunch, which I much prefer over rhubarb crisp. I also prefer it in milk rather than ice cream, but that’s just me, and I’m told it’s also a little weird. That’s okay. It’s rhubarb crunch. Be creative.

Rhubarb Crunch

Mix 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup flour, 3/4 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup butter, and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Press half into greased pan. Cover with 4 cups chopped rhubarb.

In a saucepan cook 1 cup sugar, 2 Tablespoons cornstarch, 1 cup water until clear. Then add 1 teaspoon vanilla. Pour over rhubarb. Top with remaining crumbs and bake at 350 for 1 hour.

Done.

Next week I promise something… better.  Maybe. We’ll see what pops up in the garden.

Better than it looks!

Leave a Reply

