Best new way to bring lunch!

As much as possible, I have cleansed my condo of plastic and in the process have found some really cool alternatives.  My favorite being the mason jar as a water bottle (I also love them because they remind me of growing up; my mom was constantly using the jars to can everything from green beans to rhubarb jam).  I fill the jars with sliced lemons and limes, ice, and water and  ta da! I have a no-leak water bottle.  I unfortunately did not inherit my mom’s canning skills and since you have to buy the jars by the dozen, I have 11 empty ones taking up a whole row in my cupboard.  However, a friend just recently shared a fabulous website (Healthy. Happy. Life) with a really cool use for my extra mason jars:  Salad in a Jar!

This has been dubbed the “Best New Way To Bring Lunch” – you can make five salads at once and they’ll stay fresh for the week.  Just store them in your fridge and grab one on your way out the door.  The website also offers some really fantastic recipes to try as well.  And, bonus!, they’re all vegan.

I’m also trying to make my own salad dressing and have discovered these jars make excellent containers.  I’m at my parents’ home this evening and it was just my dad, my brother, and I for dinner.  My brother, after heading out to get us some “really good beer.  Not Labatt or Coors!” (dad), discovered a salad dressing recipe in my mom’s recipe box.  We ended up having pizza, Pilsner, and fresh salad with this really delicious dressing!  I’ve copied it below.

Dessert’s next: chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream.

Poppy Seed Dressing

Mix together:

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp. dry mustard

1 tsp. salt

Add:

1 tbsp. grated onion

1/4 cup white vinegar

Stir in:

1 cup vegetable oil

1 1/2 tsp. poppy seeds

Leave a Reply

